21. Buffalo Soldiers

In 1866 the United States Congress authorized the formation of six African-American Army regiments. Later they were consolidated into four regiments, the 9th and 10th Cavalry, and the 24th and 25th Infantry. These four regiments are known as the “Buffalo Soldiers”. The 10th Cavalry was raised on September 21, 1866 at Fort Leavenworth, Kansas.

Panoramic photograph, 68th anniversary of the 10th Cavalry, Fort Leavenworth, 1935. Frontier Army Museum collection.
10th Regiment U.S. Cavalry Standard ca. 1900, Frontier Army Museum collection.
1884 regimental standard: This standard consists of a silk background, hand painted decorations, and yellow fringe that lines the outer edges. This item is in the Frontier Army Museum Collection.
10th Cavalry 1931, Frontier Army Museum Collection.